Sesame Seared Tuna

As I’ve mentioned before, I have a minor Japanese cuisine obsession. This is quite the expensive obsession to have, and as a fairly unemployed new grad I should not be spending $40 on one meal. To satisfy my sushi cravings I’ve started making my own sushi recipes, this being my favourite. It is a million times easier than making roller sushi, and in my opinion infinitely more satisfying. It’s great as an appetizer but can also be paired with my Avocado and Cucumber salad for a meal. I like serving it with avocado cream and a soya sauce/balsamic combo.

Brilliant colour

Ingredients

  • 2 tuna steaks
  • Black and white sesame seeds (I only could find white) to coat
  • Pinch salt
  • Avocado cream (see Blackened Salmon recipe)
  • 1:1 soya sauce and balsamic glaze
  • Oil for frying

Sesame and the steaks fryin up!

1. Heat the oil in a metal pan until you can throw a sesame seed into the oil and it sizzles

2. Coat the tuna steaks in sesame seeds and massage the seeds gently into the fish

3. Place in oil and sear on each side for 1 minute or to your liking

4. Slice neatly into 1 inch thick slices

The finished product with avocado cream and soya/balsamic glaze

This version is more well done than I would usually prefer, because my granny was over for dinner and isn’t wild about raw fish. Serve as an appy and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

