Summerlicious Dinner at Pangaea

Summerlicious Dinner at Pangaea

Summerlicious is a super exciting time for the foodies of Toronto! Restaurants all over Toronto serve three-course prix fixe menus for lunch and dinner. It’s also a stressful time for people like me, who can’t make decisions because every menu looks fantastic. Luckily, my friends made the decision to go to Pangaea at Bay and Bloor, and the whole meal, look and feel of the restaurant, and the company could not have been better.

I started off with the Jamón Ibérico “Bellota” Salad: Black olive caramel, lemon confit, artichokes, house made feta cheese, compressed cucumber.

Jamón Ibérico “Bellota” Salad

The beauty of this salad was its simplicity. It made you eat slowly and enjoy every bite. It had the finest Spanish ham (acorn only diet and cured for 36 months) so it’s very expensive, hence the one slice only. The feta was perfect and I loved the sauce spread along the plate. It was very, very light though so it’s a good thing they served fresh pumpkin bread, oh and that we split a bottle of wine.

For my main course, I chose the Beef Tenderloin: Summer vegetables, cipollini onion, fingerling potato, wild mushrooms and veal jus.

Beef Tennnnderloin

I really struggled with this decision because I love any type of seafood so the Sea Bream was a close contender. In the end our waitress recommended the beef and wow oh wow was I happy she did. Living up to its name, it was extremely tender and every bite I had to close my eyes, squeeze my shoulders up and moan a little…yeah that good. The vegetables were soft but crunchy and had so much flavour with the veal jus drizzled all over the whole meal. I smelled the plate before every bite because it was so intoxicating. I didn’t want it to end!

The dessert was an easy decision because chocolate equals love.  I had the Flourless Chocolate Torte with grand marnier cream and fresh berries. To be honest, it was a bit dry and not as fudgy or decadent as I’d hoped it would be. Nevertheless, I ate every last bite and felt a bit happier, a bit sexier after all that chocolate.

Flourless Chocolate Torote

Thankfully my friends let me try their desserts as well. Side note, sharing at restaurants should be a rule! Collin got the Buttermilk Panna Cotta with honey baked apricots, blueberry compote, almond toast. It was to die for with its cheesecake like bottom, creamy light topping and perfectly sweet fruity additions. Katherine got the Lemon Meringue with frozen lemon cheese mousse, house made graham cracker crust, crisp sour lemon meringue. I’ve never been a huge fan of lemon meringue, I think it’s the gelatin texture, but WOW this dessert was the winner for sure. It was fresh and decadent at the same time while bursting with flavour.

Lemon Meringue

We decided to take a walk around Yorkville after finishing our meals and wine where I absolutely fell in love! I can’t believe I’d never explored this part of Toronto before. It had tons of great restaurants, patios, stores, cute side streets…and the crowd was equally as attractive. A wonderful night with wonderful friends!

Here is a link to Pangaea’s website. The service was excellent and it had a very chic, artful design with a cool atmosphere. I also loved that the chef tweeted back at us…service marketing people!

Leave a Reply

