Roasted Red Pepper Quinoa Salad

I’ve tried so hard to jump on the Quinoa bandwagon. I’ve tried it plain, mixed into bean salad and even in burger form. But for some reason I just CAN’T get used to it. There’s something about the texture that reminds me of being force-fed oatmeal at summer camp. But for some unknown reason I keep trying to find a recipe I like! Well success was found in this wonderful, flavourful recipe that came about by me throwing all the extras from my fridge together. This recipe is creamy, tangy and textured! Now I can be healthy AND happy.

image-2

Ingredients

  • One package of Quinoa
  • 2 cups firm tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup green onions, chopped
  • 1 cup black olives, chopped
  • 1 cup mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 cup goat cheese, crumbled

Dressing

  • 1 cup roasted red pepper tapenade
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • Pinch cayenne
  1. Follow directions for quinoa on package
  2. Bring water to boil and add quinoa to directions
  3. Chop all veggies and combine with goat cheese in a bowl
  4. In a separate bowl combine all ingredients for the dressing
  5. Once the quinoa has absorbed all of the water, remove it from the heat and let sit for 5 minutes
  6. Combine the dressing, quinoa and veggie/cheese mixture in a large bowl
  7. Enjoy!!

photo

Leave a Reply

